Please take a moment to read some of the comments made by our previous guests. If you have stayed at Englewood Lodge and would like to send us a comment, please Contact us.

Fantastic 5 day break, 5 star rating22 Aug 2018

My wife and myself had a fantastic 5-day stay at Englewood Lodge B&B. Margaret was a true superhost who could not do enough for us both.

From her cooking and making us feel so relaxed, she was so helpful in telling us about the Isle of man, we both really loved our break so much. Englewood Lodge B&B was the best we have ever stayed in, and we would only stay there when we visit again.

Thank you so much Margaret, from our hearts.

Gary and Jeanette, Woolton - Liverpool, UK

Visiting family in April10 Apr 2018

We are regular visitors to Englewood Lodge, a fabulous place, we have never been disappointed.

Margaret is the perfect host. Tried many hotels along Douglas promenade before we found Englewood, no comparison and we would not stay anywhere else.

Mr George H - Castle Bytham, UK

Best B&B I've stayed in 27 Mar 2018

What a great B&B. Stayed for a couple of nights. Wish it could have been longer.

Englewood Lodge is in a great location overlooking Douglas Bay. Ten minute drive from the ferry. Great breakfast and evening meal. The house is spotlessly clean.

My room was large and a great bathroom. Everything you need is in the room and if it isn't, Margaret the owner will get for you. Margaret is a great lady and nothing is too much trouble for her.

I hope to return in the near future.

Mr Barry S - Leeds, UK

Englewood Lodge B&B07 Nov 2017

Would highly recommend this B&B. Hostess very friendly and knowledgeable about the island.

Very clean comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast. Margaret the proprietor goes out of her way to help make your stay enjoyable. Have stayed here before and it will always be our first choice whenever we visit the Island.

Mrs Euphemia H - Morecambe, UK

A Manx holiday23 May 2017

Revisiting the island after many years, we treated ourselves this time to luxurious accommodation.

Englewood Lodge did not disappoint. Margaret was friendly and welcoming, with plenty of good advice about what to see and where to eat. Breakfasts and home cooked evening meals were excellent.

Mrs Jean C - Norwich, UK

Great place to stay12 Oct 2016

Rooms beautiful, breakfast excellent, and lovely evening meals too.

Margaret was a brilliant host. Tea and cake in the afternoon a bonus!

Mr Brian C - Bexhill-on-Sea, UK

A truly 5 star experience27 Sep 2016

Our second time at this B&B and we can't speak highly enough of it. Everything first class, from the beautifully decorated and maintained rooms to the wonderful breakfasts and, if you require them, dinners.

Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the owner, Margaret. We shall be back for a third visit in 2017 or 2018.

Mr Paul P - Radstock, UK

Very enjoyable holiday14 Sep 2016

Lovely guest house, very peaceful, excellent food. Fully deserves its 5-star rating.

Mr Keith T - Cheadle, UK

First class accomodation25 Aug 2016

An excellent stay at Englewood Lodge. Good quality throughout.

Comfortable rooms and excellent catering with personal preferences quickly remembered and implemented. Highly recommended.

Mr David H - Driffield, UK

My stay at Englewood Lodge04 Aug 2016

A stay at Englewood Lodge is most enjoyable, and it is down to the wonderful efforts of the proprietress Margaret McEwan.

Mr Robert S - Exmouth, UK

What an enchanting B&B!!13 Jul 2016

Can't recommend Englewood Lodge high enough! Margaret certainly knows how to look after you.

NOTHING is too much trouble. Accommodation luxurious, but at the same time homely and welcoming. Great choice at breakfast (which will keep you going until evening), evening meal (optional extra) was delicious.

Warning - Margaret's carrot cake is very moreish, and one slice isn't enough! :-)

Thank you for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to return to the Isle of Man and would look to stay with you again. Kind Regards.

Mr Ian W - Lincoln, UK

First time in a B&B13 Jul 2016

Our very first time in this kind of holiday accommodation and we were very lucky to have found Englewood Lodge and Margaret.

We appreciated all the homely touches without being intrusive and enjoyed our time there. We would certainly recommend it to anyone. The accommodation, the food and the cake were all excellent.

Mrs Sandra K - Thirsk, UK

Home from home17 Jun 2016

What an excellent place and warm welcome.

Superb location, lovely rooms and excellent food. Margaret couldn't do enough to help us make the most of our first stay on the IOM.

Mr Mark H - Oxford, UK

Fabulous visit!25 May 2016

First time to my families homeland...beautiful!

Englewood Lodge was very nice & Margaret made our stay! Made us feel like family!!

Mr Douglas L - St. Louis, United States

Recommended!13 Jan 2016

Had a fantastic stay here with work.

Great food and would recommend evening meals! Couldn't be more helpful.

Mr Chris G - Wilmslow, UK

Christmas period stay at Englewood05 Jan 2016

My stay with Linda, the owner and host of Englewood Lodge was most enjoyable. The room and ensuite were nicely decorated and very comfortable with towelling robes and slippers provided.

Good selection of beverages in the room and nice biscuits. Breakfast was excellent with a superb choice. Food well cooked. I didn't have an opportunity to try evening meal, but there is an option for this is required. Host very friendly and made me feel very welcome. I will definitely return. I can definitely recommend to anyone with transport during the winter months. During the summer, public transport is manageable.

Ms Dawn J - Wirral, UK

Personal opinion of Englewood Lodge B&B28 Oct 2015

An excellent place to stay in all respects.

Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable and welcoming. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Mrs Kathryn D - Leven, UK

Excellent quality accommodation21 Oct 2015

This is the second time I've stayed at Englewood Lodge and Magaret works really hard at giving exceptional service, great quality food and rooms that are better than some 5* hotels.

Mr Carl J - Northampton, UK

Englewood excellence18 Oct 2015

Our first visit to this B&B lasted a full week.

The proprietor, Margaret McEwan made every effort to give us a very comfortable stay in her well appointed home and we enjoyed a spacious and luxuriously furnished dormer bedroom. The room had a pleasant view over the entirety of Douglas Bay.

We were aware of the superb dinners cooked and presented by Margaret and, although we were free to dine elsewhere, we decided that they were good value and saved us from having to turn out in the evening, since we had no car and the nearest bus stop was some 15 minutes walk away.

Guests enjoy the benefit of a lovely conservatory and very comfortable lounge with a large, modern TV. We also enjoyed playing pool there with other guests after dinner.

Mr John C - Lytham St. Annes

Truly 5*13 Oct 2015

We are so pleased to have found such a lovely place to stay on the Island.

Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the welcome is friendly and the breakfasts are scrummy! We will certainly stay here again.

Mrs B - Leicester, UK

Wow, one of the best we have ever used29 Sep 2015

First Class accommodation. Margaret the host is excellent and you can see this is in her DNA.

She is a busy little bee, and what energy. Nothing slows her down. Also her attention to detail is outstanding. Food unbeatable, hospitality and cleanliness out of this world. Then we get the views over Douglas bay thrown in as a bonus. The Electric Railway passes the door, and the stop point is literally 150 yards away from her drive and is so convenient.

Would use Englewood Lodge again and without even considering another place. Thanks Margaret, you are good!

Mr Alex R - Bridgewater, UK

First class29 Sep 2015

Englewood is as near perfect as a B&B can be.

Any short falls are so minor they are not worth mentioning. Evening meals are superb.

Mr Roger H - Stroud, UK

The best place I've stayed on the Isle of Man22 Sep 2015

Englewood Lodge itself is a delightful place in which to stay.

The accommodation is spacious and the rooms very comfortable. When I was there, a few of us were agreeing that we were sleeping better than at home. However, the best feature is Margaret herself whose care for her guests, hospitality and excellent cuisine are exceptional.

Mr Robert S - Exmouth, UK

Excellent place to stay6 Sep 2015

My wife and I visited for just under a week and were really pleased to have chosen the Englewood.

Slightly out of Douglas, this made for a quieter place to stay with lovely sea views from the property. We were given a very high standard of customer care by Margaret.

Highly recommended.

Mr John S - Telford, UK

Englewood Lodge Douglas I O M28 Jul 2015

Only a short break but it's was out this world a home from home.

5 star at its best, next time stay will be longer. Margaret is wonderful, you are looked after.

Mr David B - Nottingham, UK

Relaxed luxury stay in 5 star accommodation28 Jul 2015

Lovely house, beautifully furnished, offering conservatory overlooking the bay, large relaxing lounge and attractive dining room.

Good choice of healthy breakfast and option of excellent evening meal. Guest bedrooms rooms are very comfortable and go that extra distance with full facilities. Warm reception and guidance fom the friendly owner manager.

All round luxury accommodation and fully recommended.

Mr Trevor W - Carnforth, UK

Excellent in every way15 Jul 2015

Beautifully furnished, well maintained, large room with comfortable bed.

Spotlessly clean bathroom, brilliant shower. Friendly atmosphere, good food, constant supply of tea and cake! Reasonable price, not far from the ferry, sea view. Well what more could you want?

Highly recommended in every respect.

Ms Sandy H - Preston, UK

Silver wedding anniversary short break27 May 2015

We had a wonderful mini break, bed and breakfast definitely worth 5 star rating.

Mrs Hayley P - Leicester, UK

Excellent place to stay12 May 2015

We believe this was the best B&B we have stayed at, this includes the food, accommodation and the friendliness of Margaret.

Mr Cyril H - Oxford, UK

5* B & B07 May 2015

Quiet accommodation is first class, very comfortable with lots of extras.

Breakfasts were very varied and plentiful. The evening meals all freshly cooked and delicious, also homemade cake, coffee/tea available daily. Margaret gives much attention to detail and also visitors information.

An excellent 3 night stay.

Mrs Judith H - Earl Shilton, UK

Superb Guesthouse24 Mar 2015

Our room was wonderful. A generous comfortable super king sized bed, and suitable furniture with more than enough room to hang clothes etc.

The bathroom was a good size, with a wonderful shower. The guesthouse is located just outside Douglas, with a wonderful south view over the bay to Douglas. It is accessible easily by car, but also by the Electric Tramway and buses. Margaret, the landlady was very welcoming, full of useful information and advice on places to visit, to eat etc. Breakfast was freshly cooked each day and there was plenty available.

I can't fault this guesthouse, definitely the best place we have stayed in ever!

Mrs Mandy H - Malvern, UK

Better than any hotel17 Feb 2015

Beautiful room with a fantastic view, lots of attention to detail, loved the windows in the bathroom ceiling and bedroom you could look out at the stars.

Breakfast was well made with plenty of choice and again with sea views. So much nicer than any hotel I've stayed in excellent value though I did stay in February, a little way out of Douglas but with some great walks and scenery nearby.

Would highly recommend.

Mrs Maria C - Westerham, UK

Best B&B Englewood Lodge07 Oct 2014

Margaret was the best hostess ever nothing was to much trouble food fantastic atmosphere couldn't be better.

Many thanks Margaret.

Mrs Christine J - Colwyn Bay, UK

Beautifully furnished with good food30 Sep 2014

Rooms are clean with high quality furnishings. Margaret's cooking was beautiful.

Ms Catherine R - Bury, UK

Weekend stay30 Sep 2014

Good quality accommodation. All I have to say.

Mr Paul R - Bury, UK

Luxurious and Very Welcoming B&B25 Sep 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Margaret with tea/coffee and cake. Indeed cake was available every afternoon!

Our bedroom was large and very well equipped; the beds were very comfortable and the shower was lovely.There was a wide choice of breakfasts, all of which were very well presented and tasty. Guests can use the conservatory and patio at the front which has a fine view of Douglas Bay - this is a good place to relax in the early evening as the sun goes down.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

Mr Brian M - Leicester, UK

Manx memories23 Sep 2014

Just returned from a lovely week at the Englewood lodge, Isle of Man. Could not fault it.

Owner, cook, cleaner, travel consultant Margaret could not be more helpful and her cooking also lives up to the five star rating. Good choice of breakfast and dinner can be booked if you want it. Lovely cake and tea/coffee to come home to each day.

Place is very comfortable. Lovely sea views from some rooms so if you want this ask when you book. Nice lounge with BIG television and pool table. Ample parking in the large drive. When we go back we will be trying to get the big bedroom.

Mrs Elizabeth J - North Shields, UK

Faultless Stay09 Sep 2014

From the start to the end of our stay at the Englewood Lodge, everything was perfect, the food was outstanding, and we were treated in a polite and courteous manner.

The hotel was excellent, and we would stay there again without a doubt. Anyone going to the IOM, we would recommend this is the place to stay.

Gary & Tom Walker.

Mr Gary W - Rotherham, UK

40th birthday02 Sep 2014

Myself and Peter, had a really lovely stay at Englewood lodge. Usually we stay with family on the IOM, but decided to book a place because it was a surprise party.

Now if we come back, we would like to stay at the Englewood, we felt so relaxed and happy with the accommodation. everything was really clean, breakfast was amazing and Margaret could not do enough for us.

I would recommend this place to family and friends.

Mrs Susan M - Skelmersdale, UK

Stay 15th August19 Aug 2014

Very comfortable and spacious . Could not have wished for anything else. First class.

Mr Alan G - Rickmansworth, UK

Englewood Lodge review19 Aug 2014

Wonderful place to stay! I highly recommend it.

Mr Mark M - Bloomington, United States

Outstanding30 Jul 2014

My Husband and I thought our stay at Englewood Lodge was outstanding in every way.

Margaret was an excellent host, helpful and caring, with a beautiful home, which was very clean and comfortable, definitely 5 Stars!!! Our Meals were delicious, both Breakfasts and Evening Meals (if required) were presented with plenty of choice, cooked and served by Margaret (with a smile).

Already we are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Margaret.

Mrs Freda W - Preston, UK

Englewood Lodge24 Jul 2014

This is a lovely house with a view to match!

The bedroom and reception rooms were large and beautifully furnished. We had a very friendly warm welcome from our hostess who was able to give good advice about transport, eateries etc.

Miss Margaret M - Bolton, UK

One of the best22 Jul 2014

Excellent. Margaret works tirelessly to provide a welcoming and very attractive accommodation.

Mrs Christine H - St. Ives, UK

First class all round08 Jul 2014

Went for this accommodation based on previous reviews and was not disappointed.

The property is fantastic and kept to a very high standard. Margaret the owner was really helpful, pleasant and attentive, and the breakfast choices and standard were superb.

We also had an evening meal which was fantastic (and a real bargain). The room was very clean and the décor first class. The views out to sea and across to Douglas were also great. The walk into Douglas may be a little far for some but we didn't find it an issue, especially as we had a car if it was to rain (which it didn't).

All in all a super guest house and one we'll return to some day soon.

Mr Tim H - Hinckley, UK

Isle of Man Visit01 Jul 2014

Our stay at Englewood Lodge was extremely comfortable and enjoyable.

Little extras like coffee and cake when you returned from an outing enhanced our stay. Margaret went out of her way to ensure we were most welcome.

Mr Scott I - Aberdeen, UK

Very good B&B01 Jul 2014

An excellent B&B at Onchan Head a little way out of Douglas. very clean, comfortable & quiet.

My wife & I enjoyed our week stay there. Margaret the Dynamo is very friendly, hard working and a very good cook.

Highly recommended.

Mr Ken S - Bingley, UK

First class23 Jun 2014

This is the most luxuriously appointed b&b that we have ever stayed in.

Superb in all respects, and a home-made cake every day as well!

Mr Michael H - Hitchin, UK

Hostess with the mostest!! 20 May 2014

Great stay in very comfortable accommodation.

Our recommendation was further deserved when our hostess arrived at the ferry with the coats we'd forgotten.

Mrs Linda R - Milton Keynes, UK

Top Class Accomodation26 Aug 2014

I have been visiting the island for 45 years, The Englewood Lodge is the best accomodation that I have stayed in.

Margaret could not have been a more hospitable host and the breakfasts were ample, fruit, cereal and yoghurt to start, with a good hot and tasty choice to follow as required. The room was extremely comfortable with a view of Douglas bay like no other. Fruit and cake available all day at no extra cost.

Mr Andrew F - Prescot, UK

Excellent 23 Apr 2014

I spent 4 days in the IOM this time - 2 on business and 2 pleasure (walking some of the costal path)

- and my stay at Englewood Lodge made the whole trip more like a 5 star holiday - no doubts as to where I will stay on my next visit !

Mr Gary H, - St Peter Port, UK

Five star indeed 12 Apr 2014

I hope that you are reading this Margaret -

Your quiet professionalism and caring manner makes Englewood Lodge a pleasure to stay at - Superbly appointed, with attention to detail, and I mustn't forget the pool table.

Mr Peter G, - Leicester, UK

Very pleasant stay14 Dec 2013

I chose Englewood Lodge on the basis of the great reviews and was not disappointed.

The accommodation was all very smart and clean and Margaret was a very welcoming and hospitable host - she couldn't have done more. Very comfortable bed and a good shower. The food was lovely and there was even wonderful carrot cake on arrival.

Mr Nigel S - Preston, UK

Great B&B, superb hostess, outstanding food10 Dec 2013

Many have said how gracious a hostess Margaret is and how comfortable her rooms are...

as well as the very large and welcoming common areas (where wonderful homemade carrot cake was always there for the taking!). I can only agree wholeheartedly.

And Margaret is an exceptional cook - I recommend you take advantage of the very reasonably priced dinner she offers. And her location is excellent. Just outside the hustle and bustle of Douglas' main Promenade (and its lack of parking), she's in a beautiful residential area with free parking right in her driveway. And a great view of the bay. Perfect setting for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Mr James G - Oxford Mills, Canada

Very nice experience11 Oct 2013

We enjoyed our trip to this magical island and would be very happy to stay at Englewood Lodge again.

Margaret does all she can to make sure that her guests enjoy their visit. She explained that one of the secrets behind her success was a lot of cleaning, and our room was certainly spotless. The property is quiet and well situated to the edge of Douglas. We have both travelled extensively worldwide and can vouch that everything was to world-class standard.

Miss Susan R - Darwen, UK

Excellent23 Sep 2013

The service was first class. The food was delicious.

We were helped with appropriate advise re places to visit. The view from our room was panoramic! We were very pleased with our accommodation.

By Mr Patrick T - Chester, UK

A great stay18 Sep 2013

A very warm welcome from Margaret, very comfortable and well-equipped room.

Breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. The location was very convenient for the electric railway to Douglas and Ramsey - the stop less than 100 metres away.

Overall a very high standard and to be recommended.

By Mr Richard M - Dursley, UK,

The Best B&B I Have Visited!10 Sep 2013

I was visiting the island on business and had selected another B&B in Douglas. After one night, I realized I had made a mistake and decided to see if I could find something better.

I could have chosen any of the main hotels but decided on the Englewood, which turned out to be a brilliant decision. Margaret is a first class host, the accommodation is certainly 5 Star and the breakfast was perfect, what more could you want.

By Mr Carl T, - Newton-Le-Willows, UK,

Summer break20 Aug 2013

Excellent room excellent stay excellent host what more can I say.

Mr David R, - Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Lovely place to stay!20 Aug 2013

Can't fault the quality of absolutely everything!

By Mr Gareth C, - Oswestry, UK

Little 5 star gem!02 Aug 2013

Fantastic hotel. Margaret looked after us so well. Yummy cake and tea when we arrived.

Hotel very well positioned, which meant we had lovely views of the sea and Douglas. Breakfast was the best, great choices. Had a lovely evening meal, which cost £20 for 3 courses. All home cooked. Yummy again.

Fantastic value.

Mrs Jane W, - Leicester, UK,

Fantastic accommodation18 Jun 2013

Englewood Lodge is without doubt the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at.

Margaret is a most attentive (but certainly not overpowering) hostess, providing all sorts of little extras as a matter of course and going out of her way to provide assistance whenever the opportunity arises.

The whole house is beautifully decorated and immaculate and the food is really good. It's nice to be able to relax in the evening over a tasty meal without having to go out and find a restaurant - although it's completely up to you whether you eat in or go out.

Staying at Englewood Lodge made our holiday on the Isle of Man so much more enjoyable than it might otherwise have been. We will certainly stay there again next time we visit.

By Mrs Karen B, - Carmarthen, UK,

Lynn & Jill, mature-ish friends and cousins, Lancashire20 May 2013

We had a lovely time at Englewood Lodge, which is in a great location when travelling by car from the ferry.

is the perfect hostess and made us feel very much at home. Breakfasts and evening meals were delicious. The bedrooms are luxurious.

Would recommend to anyone visiting the IOM.

Miss Lynn T - Prescot, UK

Isle of Man visit after Easter18 Apr 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Englewood Lodge. The room was very comfortable and had an individual feel.

The bathroom had every amenity. Towels and sheets of high quality. Both breakfast and evening meals were delicious and presented in an attractive dining room. It was obvious that Margaret, the owner, really cared about her guests.

I would recommend this small hotel highly for visitors.

By Patrick D - Cambridge, UK

Excellent food, spotless rooms18 Mar 2014

If you are looking for an excellent place to stay on the outskirts of Douglas, look no further than the Englewood Lodge.

Margaret (the owner) ensures that the rooms are spotlessly clean and offers an excellent cooked breakfast with enough choice for all tastes.

Evening meals are available by prior arrangement for £12 for one course rising to £20 for three courses. Extremely comfortable beds with very high quality bed linen made for an excellent nights sleep. Spectacular views from the Englewood Lodge add to an already excellent stay. I hired a car and found it useful but local taxis and public transport are readily available nearby.

Highly recommended.

Mr Peter S - Leatherhead, UK